Happy Christmas!


The Christmas Challenge 2019 was a close call with two teams having 4 ends but Jo Cunningham’s team of Anne Ewing, Fiona Coleman and Chris Bilsland won on points.  Winners from last season were also awarded their trophies and photos of some of the awards are captured below.   

The 2018-19 Season winners are:

  • Opening Bonspiel – cancelled due to ice breakdown
  • League Cup – Andy Kinninmonth, Chris, Janet, Anne L
  • J Bilsland Trophy – Jim Bilsland Les, Kate, Lorna
  • Christmas Challenge – Bill Cunningham, Helen Chris, Les
  • Clachan Cup – Janet Simpson, Alan, Fiona, Anne L
  • Ladies v Gents – Andy Kinninmonth, Jim, Alan, Bill
  • Pairs – Janet Simpson and Anne Lochhead
  • Closing Bonspiel – John Steel, Andrew W, Anne E., Anne L.
  • Player of the Year – Janet Simpson




Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Jim Bilsland Trophy

IMG_0146 (1)

This annual match was as competitive as ever, with four teams vying for the trophy.  The final was won by the best team on the day – Andy Kinninmonth, Alan Brunger, Mary MacDonald and Sheila Steel,  pictured above being presented with the trophy by Chris Bilsland.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Province Championships

Drymen won the Robert Paterson Shield last year and subsequently qualified to represent Forth and Endrick Province at the annual Scottish Province Championships.  The competition was held over three days at Greenacres on 9 – 11 November.   We played well and won our first three games but our stamina faltered and we lost the next two games, finishing third in our section of six teams which meant we failed to qualify for the next stage.  The overall competition was won by Ayrshire who beat Central in the final.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Kinross Champs

Derek and FH Trophy 2019

After a year or two’s absence, Drymen went back to Kinross on Saturday (formerly known as the Province Weekend) and won the Forest Hills Trophy by winning 10 ends over the 4 x 4-end games. Very well done to skip Derek Young, pictured here with the trophy and the rest of the team, Andy Kinninmonth, Alan Brunger and Anne Ewing.  

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Forth Valley Knockout

Drymen played Falkirk in the first round of this competition on Thursday and achieved a resounding 10-1 win to make it through to the next round.  Well done team Derek, John, Andy and Mary who scored a 5 in the second end which helped set them up for the win.  Fingers crossed for the next game on 2 October.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Opening Bonspiel

It proved to be a very close competition finishing with 2 teams with 4 ends each and two teams with 3 end each.   In the end, John Steel pipped Les Goodfellow with 13 shots to 10.  There was a lot of good curling on good ice, followed by a very good meal at the Peak.  Well done to John and his team of  Fiona Coleman and Anne Ewing.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Doune Rosebowl

The Doune Rosebowl is the opening bonspiel of the Stirling Curling Group series of events. Drymen played in the afternoon session on 5 September and despite a slow start, we rallied and gained a creditable second place.   Four teams won 5 ends and we were pipped by Kilsyth who gained more shots than us.  Even after taking into account the scores of the other teams playing in the evening session, Drymen retained second place overall.  Well done to our team of Derek Young, Andy Kinninmonth, Alan Brunger and Mary MacDonald.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

2019/2020 Season

The new season starts next month with our Opening Bonspiel on Tuesday September 10th.  All our games are listed on the Club Calendar and team lists can be found in the “Competitions and Results'” tab.  Happy curling!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Robert Paterson Shield

Congratulations to our team of Derek, John, Andy and Les and sub Helen on winning the Forth and Endrick Province Robert Paterson Shield this year.  This competition is run as a league throughout the year against other clubs in the Province and is a prestigious trophy.  The winner has the chance to represent the Province at the National Province Championships in the following season.  Well done team.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Forth and Endrick Knockout

Last night was the final of the Forth and Endrick Knockout  – the Jim Carswell Cup – and Drymen were up against the Buccaneers in the final.  Skip Derek Young played well to save a few ends but Drymen were lagging 5-6 going into the eighth end without the hammer.  The Buccaneers were in fine form and gave nothing away so Drymen had to accept being runners -up this year.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment